Wood Spool Necklace Holder

A few weekends ago, my mother-in-law and I went to a flea market while my husband and his dad were doing some farm work. There was some neat stuff there! I walked away with an old dresser that was re-painted, two drawers were removed and shelves were added in place that were Modge Podged in dictionary pages. It’s a really cool, one of a kind piece that I got a bargain on!

I also came across a really neat idea at the flea market; it was a unique scarf holder. When I saw it, I thought that it was such a simple idea because it was just a board covered in fabric with three hooks on it. I decided to re-purpose this idea and make a necklace holder out of one of the pallet boards I had laying around and some wood spools I picked up. After a quick trip to Joann Fabrics for some batting and fabric, I was ready to begin!

First, cut your board to the desired length, I cut mine to about two feet long. Next, staple the batting around the board, then staple the fabric around the board. (Tip: sew an edge of your fabric over so the material doesn’t fray once it’s stapled down!) Then you’ll attach your saw tooth picture hangers. I placed my hangers about two to three inches from each end of the board. Next you’ll attach your spools (hooks or door knobs will work well if you don’t have spools). I measured my spools so they were equally spaced across the board. Once you have them in place, secure them with a dab of hot glue and then screw them down. Voila, now you have a brand new place to store and display your necklaces!

DIY Jewelry Holder (2)Tweet me or comment how your project turns out, I’d love to hear!

 

Leave a Reply

