DIY Silverware Garden Markers

Last weekend we planted our garden…better late than never, right? We planted a variety of goodies, including pumpkins, peppers, peas, sweet corn, beans, brussel sprouts, carrots and green beans. So since the garden was planted, the next thing on my list was to make garden markers.

I came across a DIY option on Pinterest that used wood spoons, but I wasn’t able to find any at the dollar store and didn’t want to spend $4/piece on the ones at Target I came up with an alternative. The past few weekends we’ve been having a garage sale so I had some silverware on hand that hasn’t sold yet. Instead of using wood spoons to make garden markers, I decided to use silverware spoons! Check out the steps for my latest project below.

What you’ll need:

  • Silverware spoons (larger ones work better than the teaspoon size)
  • Paint
  • Sharpies
  • Modge Podge
  • Craft paint brush
  • Yarn
  • Scissors
  • Dixie cups
  • Somewhere to hang your spoons

The first thing you need to do is wrap some yarn around the skinny part of the spoon. You’ll need to wrap it tightly so the spoon won’t be able to slip out of the yarn. Next, hang the other end of the yarn from something that will allow your spoon to dry after paint is applied. Once your spoons are all set up, it’s time to put on the paint! Pour some paint in a dixie cup and dip your spoon it so the head of the spoon is covered, then hang it to drip dry (I hung my spoons from the top shelf of my baker’s rack). Feel free to pour any excess paint in the cups back into the paint container.

IMG_1700

 

After the paint is dry -I let mine dry overnight – you can use a Sharpie to write what plant your marker will be for. I suggest leaving your spoons still hanging for this step because you’ll have to have them hanging again for the next step which is covering them with Modge Podge. Dunk the painted part of the spoon in Modge Podge and use a paint brush to get the excess off.

IMG_1745

 

After the Modge Podge is dry – again, I let the spoons dry overnight – they are all set and ready for action! Some of mine are still drying from my baker’s rack, but here are four of the ones that are finished.

IMG_1746

 

And here’s one of our silverware garden markers in action!

IMG_1748

Leave a Reply

