Paint Your Own Pottery

Paint your own pottery
My creations that I’ve painted at the Fire Escape!

Have you ever been to a paint your own pottery studio? Growing up, there was one a few miles from my parents house and my mom took me a few times to paint, and now I’m lucky enough to have one right down the road.

Though I’ve upgraded from painting cute little animal figurines to more adult pieces, it’s still just as fun! The pottery painting studio in town is the Fire Escape, and they just recently celebrated their first birthday as a business in Downtown Oshkosh. When I found out there was going to be a paint your own pottery studio coming to Oshkosh, I was thrilled! Not only do I love crafting, but I also love supporting small businesses, so I knew I had to check it out.

Shortly after they opened, my husband and I visited the Fire Escape to check it out. From the cute decor and selection of items to paint, to the super friendly staff and hours of entertainment, I was very impressed! During our first visit, I chose to paint a coffee mug and saucer set with a lace technique that was featured on their “technique clock”.

"Technique Wall" Photo from Fire Escape's Facebook page: http://on.fb.me/1QtPjmg
“Technique Wall” Photo from Fire Escape’s Facebook page: http://on.fb.me/1QtPjmg

It took me a long time to pick out my piece and what I wanted it to look like, so I really didn’t want to mess it up. Thanks to the helpful direction of the Fire Escape team, my mug and saucer ended up looking perfect!

After such a great first experience, I knew I’d be going back. Since my purple mug I’ve made three more creations, including a garden marker, candy bowl and a polka dot platter. Each time I’ve gone back, there has been even more pottery to choose from, fun events and specials, and more painting options.

If you’re looking for something fun to do with your kids, other adults or yourself, I’d highly recommend checking out your local paint your own pottery studio. If your area’s studio is anything like the Fire Escape, you won’t be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

