Knitting My First Pair of Socks

So every now and then I go in phases of wanting to try knitting new things versus mindlessly knitting things I’ve been making for years. A year or so ago I got the courage to start knitting my first sock!

I found a beautiful multi-colored Deborah Norville sock yarn at Joann Fabrics and was so socksexcited to start this new project. I followed the pattern on the inside of the yarn label and all was going well until it was time to move past the simple knit/purl pattern of the top of the sock.

By the time I got to the point in the pattern where I wasn’t immediately familiar with the techniques needed to form the heel of the sock, I got a little nervous. I set that project to the side for longer than I’d like to admit (cough *about a year* cough) until I put my foot down to teach myself how to make the rest of the sock.

Let me tell you, Google is a magical tool! After a few quick searches, I found some great tutorials and videos to learn how to do the techniques I didn’t know how to do, such as forming the heel and picking up gussets. Sure, I got frustrated at times and my first sock wasn’t perfect, but finishing it was a big accomplishment!

As soon as I finished my first sock, I was really excited to start the second. Sure, I had to look at some of the tutorials again and I probably will with future socks I make, but that’s okay! It’s a great feeling to learn new skills and to see the beautiful result of your hard work.

Knitting socks isn’t a quick project – at least not for me yet – but I’ll definitely be making more in the future. In fact, my husband already ordered a pair! I finished my socks earlier this summer, so I haven’t had the chance to wear them much but I know they’ll be nice and toasty for the Wisconsin winter that’s right around the corner. I also have a sock loom that I need to try out!

Have you made socks before? Do you have a favorite pattern? Share it in a comment, I’d love to try a new pattern!

Leave a Reply

