Get Crafting for National Craft Month!

There’s a lot to love about the month of March – in Wisconsin the snow (usually!) starts melting and there is an end in sight for winter, it stays light out longer, green beer for St. Patrick’s Day and the list goes on. But my favorite thing about March is that it’s National Craft Month!

I have a lot of friends who “wish they could be crafty” or say “I could never make anything like that” when I show them some of my projects. Well, I’m here to tell you that if you have a desire to craft, you can! If you want to be a maker but aren’t sure where to start, see which of the below sounds the most like you for a crafting recommendation to try during National Craft Month.

If You’re Looking For a Portable, Long-Term Hobby: TRY KNITTING

I’m going to start with this one because I’m  bit biased! I have been knitting since I was in third grade, and I’m still learning new techniques and how to make different items. There is a lot to love about knitting, from the wearable items you can create to having fun projects to keep you busy anywhere you go. If you’ve always wanted to learn to knit or you’ve just decided that you want to give it a try, go for it! Another fun thing about knitting is that you can take it anywhere. My knitting needles have been all over the place, most recently to Mexico!

There are tons of great tutorials on Pinterest and YouTube, but this video for beginners is really easy to follow and will have you knitting in no time! If you find yourself having trouble catching on to the basics, many local yarn shops and craft stores, including Joann Fabrics, offer classes for various skill levels.

If You’re a Patient, Detail-Oriented Person: TRY SEWING

Disclaimer: I enjoy sewing, I really do. My husband bought me my sewing machine as a gift when I graduated college and it is one of my favorite gifts, but it can drive me nuts sometimes! It can be very discouraging to spend hours on a project to find out that one leg of your pants isn’t the same length as the other because your hems are uneven. Now, I’m not saying this to turn anyone from trying out sewing, I just believe it takes a certain level of patience and determination to fall in love with it.

I really enjoy quick, simple sewing projects like curtains, valences and doggie bow ties, but it takes me a bit to find the courage to take on bigger projects like clothing. I absolutely encourage you to give sewing a try, but before diving in, I would recommend watching a few YouTube tutorials on the type of project you’re tackling or take a beginning sewing class.

If You Like to Let Your Imagination Run Wild: TRY REPURPOSING

Have you ever visited a thrift shop, seen a piece of furniture and thought, “Man, that table would look great in blue,” or, “I like that chair, but that cushion fabric has got to go”? If so, repurposing might be a great crafty hobby for you!

There are so many great things about repurposing. First, you can save a bunch of money by buying secondhand items that need a little TLC. Second, when giving those items that love, you can customize the color, fabric, etc. exactly how you want them. Third, it’s an AMAZING feeling when your friends or family are at your house and comment how cool that chair is, and when they ask where you got it, you proudly reply, “At Goodwill, but I painted and reupholstered it myself!”

If You Don’t Like Messes: TAKE AN ART CLASS

It’s safe to say something that comes with any craft project or  hobby is a mess. Whether it’s huge stashes of yarn and fabric to globs of paint or glue that runs over, messes are pretty much inevitable when you’re a maker. If you’re considering dabbling in the wonderful world of crafting but don’t have the space to dedicate to getting a little messy or you’d rather make a mess elsewhere, try taking a class or visiting a local art shop!

From pottery painting and wine and canvas classes to repurposing workshops and learning the art of stained glass, the opportunities are nearly endless when you do a little digging to find what’s nearby! A quick Google search could have you on your way to a new passion.

Are you to take a step outside of your comfort zone and try a new craft to celebrate National Craft Month? I’d love to hear about your projects and hobbies, new or old, that you’re working on this month!

 

Leave a Reply

